I needed to ensure I had a valid fishing license for my fishing experiences in Utah as I prepared for the upcoming fishing season. I had no idea how much they cost or where I could get one. So I did some research on Utah fishing permits, and this is what I discovered.
So, how much does a Utah fishing license cost? Continue reading below for additional information on the cost of each permit, where to find and purchase your support, and the various fishing restrictions in Utah.
Utah Fishing Regulations
Regarding fishing, there are several restrictions, rules, and laws in the state of Utah. You must comprehend and be aware of several things besides purchasing a fishing license. Here are some general fishing tips for Utah.
There will be no fishing, much fewer sports fishing, for future generations unless fish populations and habitats are maintained and conserved. The thrill and suspense of pulling in a largemouth bass will be lost to future fishermen. Everyone should keep the waterways clean and pollution-free. Whether supplied or spawned, fish populations should be permitted to reproduce. It is necessary to practice proper catch and release techniques.
Have you heard of many fishermen going crazy about capturing crappie or brown trout at East Canyon Reservoir? There are plenty of reasons to be enthralled by Utah. The state is no less than a great fishing destination, with thousands of miles of coastline and thousands of lakes, rivers, streams, and reservoirs.
General Fishing Regulations
In Utah, a fishing license is required to fish in any body of water, including rivers, streams, ponds, lakes, and reservoirs. To feel in Utah, you must be at least 12 years old and have a valid fishing license.
You are permitted to fish with two poles at any water in Utah, provided you have a valid fishing license or are under 12. The extra pole, however, does not affect the number of fish you can retain.
Specific Fishing Regulations
Free Fishing Day is a beautiful event in Utah that allows everyone to enjoy the outdoors while fishing. On June 6, 2020, there will be a Free Fishing Day. This annual event provides a terrific opportunity to socialize while fishing.
Utah also has an app that allows you to maintain your fishing license on your phone or tablet. This makes carrying your request around a breeze, and the app will even notify you when your consent is about to expire.
Transporting and releasing live fish is forbidden in Utah because it can significantly affect fish populations and fishing. Corn is lawful to use and fish within any Utah waterbody where bait is allowed. It is also legal in all of the states that surround it. In recent studies, corn has been found to have no adverse effects on fish. Keep in mind, though, that chumming is still illegal in Utah.
WIA (walk-in access) is a program in Utah where landowners lease their property to Utah Wildlife Management, enabling hunters and fisherman access to hunt and fish.
Who Needs A Utah Fishing License?
Generally, anybody who wishes to throw a line in any of Utah’s fishing waterways must first get a valid fishing license. There are several exceptions to this rule, though. If you’re one of the following people, you don’t need a Utah fishing license:
- A youngster under the age of 12 years old.
- Fishing with a troop of scouts or other organizations who are 15 years old or younger on the annual Free Fishing Day
- You hold a reciprocal license from a state with which Utah has a mutual agreement.
Furthermore, certain inhabitants are entitled to specific benefits, such as a reduced licensing payment. The following are the requirements:
- Veterans from Utah who were injured in the line of service.
- Seniors in Utah who are 62 years or older.
What Does The Utah Fishing License Fee Cover?
The money you spend on your license helps safeguard and maintain this wonderful sport for future generations. Fishery management, habitat improvement, endangered species initiatives, and conservation education are all beneficiaries of the funds.
When you are fishing in Utah without the proper permits and licenses, the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend your request if you knowingly, willfully, or carelessly violate wildlife laws. Your consent will be revoked by the agency if you:
- You have been found guilty.
- You can either enter a guilty or no-contest plea.
- You make an abstention or diversion agreement.
Where To Buy A Utah Fishing License?
Purchasing a Utah fishing license is simple since you may pick from five different means of payment offered in the state. You have five options:
- Buy Online – Go to the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources website, input your birth date, and follow the directions.
- Buy from the state’s licensing App – In addition to several other features and benefits, the Utah Hunting & Fishing App allows you to purchase and save your Utah fly fishing license.
- Buy from a local vendor – Hundreds of local vendors, including bait shops, fishing equipment businesses, grocery stores, and other licensed agents, have been recognized by the state of Utah. To find the nearest agent in your region, go to the Utah License Agent Locator.
- Buy over the phone – You can call the toll-free number 1-800-221-0659 and buy your fishing license over the phone. Note that a $2 fee will apply.
- Buy from a guide – If you’ve booked a boat and hired a guide, the professional guides can also help you get the permissions you need.
Aside from the cash, you must have the following items on hand to obtain a fishing license in Utah:
- Licence to drive
- Proof of Residency and other facts about residency
- Name, height, weight, hair colour, and eye colour are examples of personally-identifying information.
How Much Does A Utah Fishing License Cost?
Cost Of Fishing Licenses In Utah
|Fishing License Type||Resident||Non-Resident|
|1-year fishing (age 12–13)||$5.00||$5.00|
|1-year fishing (age 14–17)||$16.00||$25.00|
|1-year fishing (age 18+)||$34.00||$75.00|
|Multi-year licenses||$33 per year (up to five years)||$74 per year (up to five years)|
|Year fishing (age 65+)||$25.00||–|
|Disabled veterans 1-year||$12.00||–|
|Set-line (valid only when used with current fishing license)||$20.00||$20.00|
If you want to go hunting and fishing in the same season, you may consider obtaining a combo license to save money. Details about them can be found further down:
|1-year combination (14–17)||$20.00||$29.00|
|1-year combination (18–64)||$38.00||$85.00|
|1-year combination (65+)||$29.00||–|
What Are The Different Fishing Licenses That Are Available In Utah?
Depending on age, validity, and residence, different fishing permits are available in Utah. Anglers between the ages of 12 and 13 may get a 3-day, 7-day, or annual license for just $5.00. They must purchase them for $16.00 when they are 14 to 17. They may get a 3-day, 7-day, or yearly license for $16.00, $20.00, and $34.00, respectively, when they reach 18 to 64. At that age, a resident angler can pay $33.00 each year to prolong the validity of their yearly permit for up to 5 years.
Senior citizens aged 65 and over are eligible for a reduced license payment. A 3-day, 7-day, and yearly permit cost just $16, $20,00, and $25.00, respectively. They had to pay an extra $25.00 yearly for the different years. Resident Disabled Veteran, on the other hand, receives more substantial savings, with a license costing $12 for the first year and a further $12.00 for subsequent years.
Non-resident minors between the ages of 14 and 17 can purchase a $3-day, $7-day, or yearly license for $24, $25, and $25, respectively. Older non-resident anglers can get a 3-day permit for $24.00, 7-day support for $40.00, a yearly charge for $75.00, and so on.
Popular Game Fish To Target In Utah
- Rainbow Trout
- Cutthroat Trout
- Bonneville Cutthroat
- Colorado River Cutthroat
- Yellowstone Cutthroat
- Bear Lake Cutthroat
- Brook Trout
- Lake Trout
- Golden Trout
- Arctic Grayling
- Brown Trout
- Tiger Trout
- Kokanee Salmon
- Yellow Perch
- Striped Bass
- Smallmouth Bass
- Largemouth Bass
- White Bass
- Channel Catfish
- Black Crappie
- White Crappie
- Green Sunfish
- Northern Pike
- Tiger Muskellunge
- Blue Marlin
Related post: Can You Eat Blue Marlin [Is It Safe?]
Fish That Are Protected In Utah
- Bluehead sucker
- Colorado pike minnow (formerly, Colorado squawfish)
- Flannelmouth sucker
- Gizzard shad (except at Lake Powell, where you may possess dead shad and use them as bait)
- Grass carp
- Humpback chub
- June sucker
- Least chub
- Northern leather side chub
- Razorback sucker
- Roundtail chub
- Southern leather side chub
- Virgin chub
- Virgin spinedace
Daily Limits And Other Fishing Regulations In Utah
When a particular regulation is in place on a body of water, that rule takes precedence over the general rules. You can have a permissible daily limit of dead game fish or crayfish. If you have a valid fishing or combination license, children under the age of 12 can fish without a license and take the entire day quota. You cannot have any fish in your possession that contradicts the waterbody’s laws where you’re fishing if you fish in different waterways in one day.
Please keep the following guidelines in mind while determining your daily limit:
- Your daily limit includes any trout, salmon, or grayling that aren’t released immediately.
- If a trout, salmon, or grayling has been held on a stringer in a fish basket, live well, or any other device, it cannot be released.
- Any fish that does not fit the size or species requirements for the water you’re fishing must be promptly returned to the water.
How Do I Qualify To Purchase A Resident License In Utah?
A resident in Utah is defined as a person who has a domicile (fixed permanent residence and central establishment) in Utah for six consecutive months before purchasing a license or permit, and does not claim residency for hunting, fishing, or trapping in any other state or nation.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Do I Need A License To Fish On Private Property?
The Division is unable to guarantee access to private property. Before entering private places, you must first get written permission from the proprietor or the landowner’s authorized agent.
Q: Is There A Day When You May Go Fishing For Free?
Yes. In June, a free fishing day is traditionally held.
Q: Can I Present A Digital Copy Of My Driver’s License Instead Of A Paper Copy?
Yes. If a conservation officer requests your license, you may show them the digital copy, which is just as legitimate as a paper license.
Q: Is Fishing With Corn Permitted In Utah?
Yes, you can legally use and fish with corn in any Utah waterbody that allows bait. It is also lawful in all of the states that surround it. According to recent research, has no negative impact on fish. Keep in mind, though, that chumming is still illegal in Utah.
Q: Is A Fishing License Required To Capture Crawdads In Utah?
To fish for crayfish, you must be 12 years old or older and have a current Utah fishing license. Fishing for crayfish does not require a license if you are under the age of 12.
Q: Is It Possible To Fish In Utah With Two Rods?
Anglers with a valid fishing license in Utah can fish with two poles at any water in the state. This, however, has no bearing on the daily quota of fish you can retain.
Q: Do I Qualify As An In-State Resident?
The law requires you to have been a resident for six or more consecutive months to qualify for an in-state license. There are a few exceptions, which include if you are stationed in the military here or if you are attending school, in which case you must have been residing in the area for 60 consecutive days.
The article entirely answers the question: how much does a Utah fishing license cost? Brown trout and crappie may be abundant at Utah’s East Canyon Reservoir. Utah is well-known for its excellent trout fishing in its high mountain streams and lakes. Tiger muskies, striped bass, wipers, largemouth, smallmouth bass, and different bass, perch, and catfish species can all be found.
In most of Utah’s rivers, fishing is permitted all year. Before you may go fishing, you must first obtain a fishing license. You go on a boat and paddle down a river to start fishing as soon as you have your fishing license. It is simple to obtain a fishing license online, but you must first identify which license you want – resident or non-resident, and for how long. A multi-year fishing license is more practical if you fish frequently.
Read more: Best Baitcasting Reels for the Money